Background and History

Sign language research and deaf training programmes started in The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor James Woodward invited Professor Gladys Tang to form a research team to investigate Hong Kong Sign Language. In addition, they also collaborated on a number of research programmes and related activities, including seminars, conferences, community service, public consultations, etc.

The Centre for Sign Linguistics and Deaf Studies is founded by Professor Gladys Tang, Professor James Woodward and a group of postgraduate students and deaf junior research assistants at The Chinese University of Hong Kong, as Asia-Pacific's first research institution specialising in sign linguistics research and deaf training. The Centre also provides services to many local organisations and schools, including talks, trainings, development programmes, speech therapy services and a vast range of sign language courses.

Professor Gladys Tang and team started the "Sign Bilingualism and Co-enrolment in Deaf Education (SLCO) Programme"

Based on the guiding principles of "Sign Bilingualism" and "Co-enrolment", a series of educational programmes from preschool to secondary education have been launched to enable deaf and hearing children to develop collaborative learning using both signed and spoken languages through the co-teaching of deaf and hearing teachers. The SLCO Programme is the first of its kind in Asia, and it is internationally recognised as a successful example of deaf-hearing inclusive education. Nowadays, the Centre also provides deaf education consultation for other Asian countries.

Professor Gladys Tang was presented the Hong Kong Humanity Award at the event co-organized by the Hong Kong Red Cross and Radio Television Hong Kong, for her contribution and dedication in deaf education and training.

The establishment of SLCO Community Resources

With the support from the 'Sustainable Knowledge Transfer Project Fund' of CUHK, SLCO Community Resources is established to promote "Sign Bilingualism" and "Co-enrolment". In the future, SLCO Community Resources will mainly focus on developing programmes, whereas the Centre for Sign Linguistics and Deaf Studies will concentrate on relevant academic research. In addition, SLCO Community Resources and Centre for Sign Linguistics and Deaf Studies will work together in professional training programmes, promotion of deaf awareness and deaf education.

背景與歷史

香港中文大學的手語研究及訓練項目正式開展。

鄧慧蘭教授獲伍德華教授 (Prof. James Woodward)邀請構建研究隊伍,在香港手語領域進行研究,同時他們在多個研究項目中合作,包括專題研討會,大型會議,社區服務和公眾諮詢等。

鄧慧蘭教授、伍德華教授、及一群健聽的研究生和聾的初級研究助理正式於香港中文大學成立「手語及聾人研究中心」,以發展手語語言學的研究工作,為亞太區第一所專注在手語語言學研究及聾人訓練的中心。中心亦為很多本地機構及學校提供服務,包括講座、培訓、發展項目、言語治療服務及各類型的手語課程等。

鄧慧蘭教授及團隊開展「手語雙語共融教育計劃」。

計劃根據「手語雙語」和「共融教育」的理念推行了一系列學前至中學的教育計劃,讓聾童和健聽學童一同以手語和口語在主流學校上課,打破語言隔膜,加強雙方學習效益。計劃為亞洲地區聾人教育開創先河,在國際上獲視為聾、健共融教育的成功例子,現時亦為多個亞洲國家名地區在聾人教育發展上提供諮詢及培訓。

鄧慧蘭教授獲頒由香港紅十字會及香港電台合辦之「香港人道年獎」,以表揚她在聾人教育及培訓上的貢獻。

鄧慧蘭教授及團隊成立「語橋社資 (SLCO Community Resources Limited)」

鄧慧蘭教授及團隊獲香港中文大學「可持續知識轉移項目基金」支持,成立「語橋社會資源有限公司」(語橋社資),在社區層面推動「手語雙語」及「共融教育」理念。未來,語橋社資將主力發展各項實踐及應用計劃,而手語及聾人研究中心將集中進行相關的學術研究,雙方共同推動跨專業培訓、宣傳及公眾教育的工作。